Skip to main content

Web of Science platform: Introduction

Learn more about the databases on the Web of Science platform.

Uncovering the Right Research

Join us in the first installment of a new video series which dives into the key challenges in research today.

Training options

Technical Support

Frequently Requested Links

We'd love to hear from you

Please share your feedback and help us improve this page. Make sure to include the URL of this page in your comments.

Quick feedback

Was this page helpful?
Yes: 1 votes (50%)
No: 1 votes (50%)
Total Votes: 2

What is Web of Science?

Web of Science is a platform consisting of several literature search databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research.

Web of Science platform

Note: Your institution's entitlement to the Web of Science platform may not include all these databases.

There are databases with a subject focus like Medline, BIOSIS Citation Index, and Zoological Record; databases with a document type focus like Derwent Innovations Index (patents) and Data Citation Index (datasets and data studies); and databases highlighting content from regions around the world.

Web of Science Core Collection is our premier resource on the platform and includes over 18,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals); over 160,000 conference proceedings; and over 80,000 editorially selected books.

Search across all databases on the platform to find content spanning multiple disciplines, document types, and formats. Discover the citation connections between these diverse content sets. Explore the more than one billion searchable cited references in Web of Science.

Getting Started

1. Access Web of Science from your library’s electronic resources page.

2. Create a sign-in for Web of Science (top right corner of the landing page).

While optional, creating a sign-in allows you to:

  • access Web of Science offsite (http://webofscience.com)
    • Roaming access is 6 months.
    • Sign in onsite to refresh roaming access for another 6 month period.
  • save your searches
  • set up search alerts and citation alerts
  • save lists of records for later use
  • sign in with the same credentials for InCites, EndNote online, and ResearcherID

3. Sign up for live web-based training. Register for a class and walk through our products with an expert trainer.

4. Watch our video tutorials on YouTube. This playlist of short videos from our YouTube channel walks you through key features on the Web of Science platform.

5. Use the tabs at the top of this guide to explore each database on the platform in more detail.