Skip to main content

Web of Science Core Collection: Your Author Identity: ResearcherID and ORCID

Web of Science Core Collection is a painstakingly selected, actively curated database of the journals that researchers themselves have judged to be the most important and useful in their fields.

Researcher ID and ORCID Unique Identifiers

ResearcherID.com is a freely available resource for the global, multi-disciplinary scholarly research community. After registering, you are assigned an individual ID number that stays with you over the course of your career, regardless of name changes or change in institution affiliation. It allows you to create an online Profile for showcasing your publication history. It is designed to display an accurate record of output and attribution. It also provides a gateway for colleagues to quickly locate your published work and to identify you as a potential collaborator.   Your ResearcherID number can be searched in the 'Author Identifiers' field from the Web of Science landing page. 

The key benefits of creating a profile include the abality to:

  • Update your biographical (Profile) information at anytime.

  • Build your "My Publications" list by uploading works that you authored from any product database in Web of Science including the Author Search function in Web of Science Core Collection.

  • Manage your publication list with EndNote.

  • Control whether your Profile is public or private, much like people do on Facebook and other Web sites.

  • View citation metrics for items found in Web of Science Core.

  • Search the registry to find collaborators, review publication lists, and explore how research is used around the world.

  • Designate an administrator at your institution to update your ResearcherID publication list.

ORCID is a non-profit organization that aims to solve the author/contributor name ambiguity problem in scholarly communication by creating a central registry of unique identifiers. It provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher and, through integration in key research workflows such as manuscript and grant submission, supports automated linkages between you and your professional activities ensuring that your work is recognized. Your ORCID number can also be searched in the 'Author Identifiers' field from the Web of Science landing page. ORCID numbers are harvested and appended to Web of Science records monthly.

For more information, go to the ORCID home page.

Author Disambiguation

All author names are indexed and searchable in the Core Collection.  Even though full names (last, first) appear in the display since 2007, it is recommended to search with last name and [truncated] first initial for most returned results. To reduce noise in search results, add the authors' institution in the address or Organization-Enhanced field:

                              Example:  trefler d* AND University of Toronto

All of the authors' affiliations are indexed when available with the published item. Since 2007, authors are linked to address via superscript.  Expand to show Organization-Enhanced information, a unified name for the most common and preferred name for an institution.  

You can also perform a search by selecting "Author Search" (blue fields, dropdown menu) from the defaults "Basic Search" on landing page for the Web of Science Core Collection. Here, there are three fields to fill out: 

1) Author last name and up to 4 initials

2) Field of Research

3) Institutional affiliation

The results will be grouped into clusters which identify the papers associated to one same author. This too helps in determining (and eliminating) authors that differ from the searched one.

Articles written by authors who have established profiles in ResearcherID and ORCID, are linked to these profiles are a great advantage since they attribute a unique identifier and enable author disambiguation, particularly for more common names. It is important for researchers who have created these profiles to keep them updated for maximum tracking of their own research. 

Quick feedback

Was this page helpful?
Yes: 28 votes (70%)
No: 12 votes (30%)
Total Votes: 40

Author Search Videos

Author Name Searching


Author Identifiers: ResearcherID and ORCID

Training options

Technical Support

We'd love to hear from you

Please share your feedback and help us improve this page. Make sure to include the URL of this page in your comments.