Resources for Librarians

Database descriptions for your A to Z list

Use these descriptions in your databases list to help users understand what content and features they can expect from your Web of Science resources.

Web of Science Core Collection

Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.

• All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
• Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
• Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
• See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
• Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.

Arabic Citation Index

Discover bibliographic information and citations to scholarly articles from expertly curated Arabic journals and other Web of Science content. ARCI is powered by the Web of Science and funded by the Egyptian Knowledge Bank (EKB).

• Search in Arabic or English.
• Identify critical Arabic research.

Biological Abstracts

An expansive index to the world’s life sciences journal literature, covering topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology.

• Search precisely using key terms and controlled terminology in context using fields including biochemistry, genes, and taxonomic data.

BIOSIS Citation Index

An expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.

• Search across journals, meetings, patents, and books.
• Search precisely using key terms and controlled terminology in context using fields including biochemistry, genes, and taxonomic data.
• Navigate to related research using indexed cited references.

BIOSIS Previews

An expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.

• Search across journals, meetings, patents, and books.
• Search precisely using key terms and controlled terminology in context using fields including biochemistry, genes, and taxonomic data.

Current Contents Connect

Complete tables of contents and bibliographic information from the world’s leading scholarly journals.

• Use Table of Contents alerting to be notified when new issues of relevant journals are available.

Chinese Science Citation Database

Provides bibliographic information and citations to articles in the core science and engineering journals published in the People’s Republic of China.

• Search in Chinese or in English.

CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health

Provides authoritative research information on agriculture, environment, and related applied life sciences.

• Search using unique CABI indexes including CAB Thesaurus, CABICODES, and subject descriptors.
• Includes data from journals, books, proceedings, monographs, technical reports, and more.

Data Citation Index

Discover research data sets and data studies from a wide range of international data repositories in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

• Discover research data connected to articles published in journals, books, and conference proceedings.
• Link directly to data repositories for easy access to the deposited data sets.

Derwent Innovations Index

Combines unique value-added patent information indexed from over 50 patent issuing authorities in the Derwent World Patent Index (1963-present) with patent citations indexed from the Derwent Patents Citation Index (1973-present).

• Search across clearly written patent titles and abstracts that highlight the novelty, use, advantage, and claims of each invention.
• Search precisely using international patent classification codes or unique Derwent Class Codes.
• Combines patents from multiple patent issuing authorities into a single patent family for easy and complete discovery of each invention.
• Monitor an invention's influence by navigating patent citations.

FSTA - the food science resource

Provides thorough coverage of pure and applied research in food science, food technology, and food-related nutrition.

• Covers topics relating to every aspect of the food chain, including all the major food commodities plus biotechnology, microbiology, food safety, additives, nutrition, packaging, and pet foods.
• Search for food-related literature from journals, books, proceedings, reports, theses, patents, standards, and legislation.

Inspec

A comprehensive index to the global journal and proceedings literature in physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, mechanical engineering, production and manufacturing engineering, and information technology.

• Search using the unique Inspec Thesaurus and Classification Codes as well as chemical, numerical, and astronomical indexing.

KCI - Korean Journal Database

Provides access to articles from multidisciplinary journals covered in KCI. KCI is managed by the National Research Foundation of Korea and contains bibliographic information for scholarly literature published in Korea.

• Search in Korean or English

Medline

The U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) premier life sciences database.

• Explore biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science.
• Search precisely with MeSH terms and CAS registry numbers.
• Link to NCBI databases and PubMed Related Articles.

Preprint Citation Index

Discover preprints from leading international preprint repositories in the sciences, social sciences and arts & humanities in one place. Connect preprints to author profiles and peer reviewed journal literature in the Web of Science, and link directly to the preprint repositories to view versions of a preprint and download full text.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index

The world's most comprehensive, curated, multidisciplinary collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering over 5.5 million records for post-graduate works from thousands of universities. Link to full text options on the ProQuest Platform from your Web of Science search results.

SciELO Citation Index

Provides scholarly literature in sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities published in leading open access journals from Latin America, Portugal, Spain, and South Africa.

• Search in Spanish, Portuguese, or English.

Zoological Record

The world’s leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology.

• Keep up on all aspects of animal biology and biodiversity issues.
• Determine the first appearance of an animal name or new species and track taxonomic and nomenclatural changes.
• Search with the help of extensive thesauri, including subject, geographical, paleontological and taxonomic classifier.

Web of Science APIs

Web of Science™ data is uniquely selective, based on an independent editorial process combined with over 50 years of essential, accurate and unique curation, resulting in an unparalleled data structure. Every article from every journal has been indexed, creating a comprehensive and complete data network. Web of Science APIs seamlessly integrate the world’s best publication and citation data, giving you flexibility and control of the highest-quality and normalized bibliometric indicators. Power and enrich your institution’s analysis and assessment capabilities.  Learn more in the Clarivate Developer Portal.

EndNote API
This API allows you to create and update information within an EndNote library.

InCites Document Level Metrics API
InCites Benchmarking & Analytics™ is a citation-based evaluation tool for academic and government administrators to analyze institutional productivity and benchmark output against peers and aspirational peers in a national or international context. This API provides article-level metrics to support integration in Research Management Systems or Current Research Information Systems (CRIS).

Web of Science Starter API
The Web of Science™ Starter API allows for a real-time check of bibliographic metadata such as DOI, author, source title, etc., against the Web of Science Core Collection and other Web of Science Product Databases. This enables building article-level links to the Web of Science from external systems and retrieving times-cited counts from the Web of Science.

Web of Science API Lite
Support search and data integration using Web of Science data returned as JSON or XML

Web of Science API Expanded
The Web of Science™ API Expanded API supports rich searching across the Web of Science to retrieve full item-level metadata, including times cited counts, contributor addresses/affiliations and funding data. Additional operations support the ability to discover related records as well as cited references and citing items.

Web of Science Journals API
This API provides journal-level metadata and metrics for all journals in the Journal Citation Reports™ covered in the Web of Science Core Collection, including the Journal Impact Factor™ and other new metrics. Integrate journal data into your internal systems or retrieve journal indicators for bibliometrics studies.

Web of Science SUSHI API
This API helps you harvest usage statistics from the Web of Science platform via the NISO SUSHI protocol in accordance with the COUNTER R5 Code of Practice.

Web of Science Reviewer Locator API
Web of Science Reviewer Locator is a full-stack solution to find, screen, and contact expert peer reviewers. This API helps you integrate Web of Science Reviewer Locator with your editorial or grant management system.