Skip to main content

Authors / Researchers: Welcome

Welcome

The goal of this guide is to help authors and researchers learn how to use Clarivate products to enhance all aspects of their work.

Welcome (this page) provides an overview of the Clarivate product line-up and helps you determine which products you have access to through your institution.

The next tab at the top of this guide, First Steps, walks you through creating a sign-in for Web of Science, which is the same sign-in you'll be using for other Clarivate products.

Build your portfolio takes you through the process of establishing your publication identity.

Explore other areas in this guide as they pertain to your work.

What do you have?

Which Clarivate products do you have access to?

This guide will show you what you can do with our products, but before you can embark on that journey, you need to find out which of our products you have access to through your institution. The best source for this information is going to be your librarian, but you can also find out on your own by following the steps on this page.

The Web of Science platform

Web of Science is a platform consisting of several literature search databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research.

Web of Science platform

Note: Your institution's entitlement to the Web of Science platform may not include all these databases.

There are databases with a subject focus like Medline, BIOSIS Citation Index, and Zoological Record; databases with a document type focus like Derwent Innovations Index (patents) and Data Citation Index (datasets and data studies); and databases highlighting content from regions around the world.

Web of Science Core Collection is our premier resource on the platform and includes over 18,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals); over 160,000 conference proceedings; and over 80,000 editorially selected books.

Search across all databases on the platform to find content spanning multiple disciplines, document types, and formats. Discover the citation connections between these diverse content sets. Explore the more than one billion searchable cited references in Web of Science.


Access

Web of Science is available only via entitlement through your institution.

To find out if you have access to Web of Science, go to this URL while onsite at your institution: http://webofknowledge.com

If you are taken to this landing page, then you have access to the Web of Science:

If you don't see the Web of Science landing page, it could be a technical issue so it's still a good idea to ask your librarian if you have access.

Next, click on the orange database selector and make a note of all the databases you have access to on the Web of Science platform. They will be listed under "All Databases."

The InCites platform

The InCites platform consists of three research analytics tools:

InCites Benchmarking & Analytics is a customized, web-based research evaluation tool that can help you analyze productivity, monitor collaboration activity, and identify influential researchers at the institutional, regional, funder, and topic level.

Journal Citation Reports is an annual report that provides various metrics and indicators, based on citation activity, to help you evaluate the impact and influence of over 11,000 rigorously selected, high-impact journals sourced from the Web of Science Core Collection.

Essential Science Indicators is an analytics tool that identifies top performing papers, authors, institutions, countries, and journals across 22 broad disciplines based on citation thresholds.


Access

InCites is available only via entitlement through your institution.

To find out if you have access to InCites Benchmarking & Analytics, go to this URL while onsite at your institution: http://incites.thomsonreuters.com

If you see a page with a prompt to sign in (see below), then this means you have access.

If you don't see this prompt to sign in, it could be a technical issue so it's still a good idea to ask your librarian if you have access.

To find out if you have access to Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators, go to the URLs below while onsite at your institution. JCR and ESI do not require a sign-in, so if you are taken right into the product, then you know you have access.

http://jcr.incites.thomsonreuters.com

http://esi.incites.thomsonreuters.com

EndNote

EndNote is reference management software with features to—

  • Keep all your references and reference-related materials in a searchable personal library.
  • Synchronize your references between up to three of your personal computers, an online library, and your iPad, through EndNote sync. (You must be the owner and user of all three computers.)

  • Share your references with collaborators through EndNote sync.

  • Use your references in word-processing documents to create formatted citations and bibliographies or independent reference lists.


Access

EndNote is available via single-user license or a volume license.

If your institution has a site license for EndNote--the current version is X8--then you may find it available for download on your institution's IT software page for students, faculty, and/or employees. If you can't find EndNote or aren't sure you have access to it, you can always check with your IT department or your librarian.

Another possibility is that you have access to EndNote through your department. Your department's admin office or IT staff would be good contacts for this information.

If you've determined you don't have EndNote through your department or institution, and you decide at a later point you want your own copy, you can purchase a single-user license. Check your bookstore, first, if you are at an academic institution, as it may be discounted there. You can also buy EndNote from Clarivate Analytics or our international resellers. This link has info on buying EndNote (student pricing is available): http://endnote.com/buy

To help you decide, we provide a free 30-day trial of EndNote: http://endnote.com/demo

EndNote online

There is an online version of EndNote that is not as robust or fully-featured as the desktop version of EndNote. EndNote online is geared towards someone at the undergraduate level, who is writing one or two papers a year. Most Web of Science entitlements include EndNote online.

If you start with EndNote online but decide at a later time you need the more powerful desktop solution, it is possible to transfer all your work to the desktop version of EndNote.

Web of Science Newsletter

Science Research Connect Blog

Recent articles

Loading

Providing the right data for Climate Science

Professor Sir Andy Haines of the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine is studying how climate change impacts nutrition by altering the quantity and quality of crops that are growing around the world. To do this, Professor Haines and his team are conducting a systematic review of research from databases such as CAB Abstracts, Medline and Web of Science Core Collection–all of which are part of the larger Web of Science Discovery Platform.

Uncovering the Right Research

Join us in the first installment of a new video series which dives into the key challenges in research today.

Training options

We'd love to hear from you

Please share your feedback and help us improve this page. Make sure to include the URL of this page in your comments.

Quick feedback

Was this page helpful?
Yes: 1 votes (50%)
No: 1 votes (50%)
Total Votes: 2