Skip to main content

Authors / Researchers: Advanced citation management

EndNote, the most advanced citation manager for your research

EndNote is a powerful citation manager with features to help you in all stages of research and writing. Highlighted on this page are a few select features that will help you update, process, and organize your reference data. These features are only available in the desktop version of EndNote. If you are using EndNote online, please see the bottom of this page for information on getting EndNote desktop (Suggestions for EndNote online users).

For more on EndNote's features, please visit the EndNote libguide.

Update references in your library

Watch this video on how to update missing information (PMIDs, DOIs, abstracts, etc.) in references already in your library.

Find full text articles

Use the Find Full Text command in EndNote to retrieve the full-text articles (PDF) of references already in your EndNote library.

This feature will find publicly available or Open Access articles. You can also configure EndNote to use your institution's resources, subscriptions, etc. when retrieving the full-text.

Watch this video on setting up this feature.

Import PDFs

Import your archive of full-texts

EndNote can import the full text articles (PDFs) you've collected over time.

The steps below are for importing a folder of PDFs.

1. In EndNote go to File > Import > Folder.

2. Click the Choose button and select the folder containing your PDFs.

3. Check the "Include files in subfolders" option if the folder you selected has subfolders containing PDFs of full-text articles. Check the "Create a Group Set for this import" option if your PDFs are organized into subfolders and you would like to preserve that structure within your library.

4. Make sure the Import Option is set to PDF.

5. Click the Import button.

 

Set up an auto-import PDF folder

You can also drop-and-drag PDFs into a designated folder that will automatically import the PDF into your EndNote library. Watch this video on how to set up an auto-import folder for PDFs.

Annotate your PDFs

PDFs attached to references in your library can be annotated using EndNote's built-in PDF viewer.

Watch this video for more on this feature.

Rename the PDFs in your EndNote library

PDFs in your EndNote library with obscure or unhelpful filenames can be renamed.

Watch this video for more on this feature.

Organize your library of references

EndNote provides powerful options for organizing references in your library.

Watch this video for more on this topic.

Suggestions for EndNote online users

Here are suggestions for EndNote online users interested in upgrading to a more advanced citation management experience with EndNote desktop.

If your institution has a site license for EndNote desktop--the current version is X8--then you may find it available for download on your institution's IT software page for students, faculty, and/or employees. If you can't find EndNote or aren't sure you have access to it, you can always check with your IT department or your librarian.

Another possibility is that you have access to EndNote through your department. Your department's admin office or IT staff would be good contacts for this information.

If you've determined you don't have EndNote through your department or institution, and you've decided you want your own copy, you can purchase a single-user license. Check your bookstore, first, if you are at an academic institution, as it may be discounted there. You can also buy EndNote from Clarivate Analytics or our international resellers. This link has info on buying EndNote (student pricing is available): http://endnote.com/buy

To help you decide, we provide a free 30-day trial of EndNote: http://endnote.com/demo

PDF Guides

The EndNoteTraining YouTube Channel

We'd love to hear from you

Please share your feedback and help us improve this page. Make sure to include the URL of this page in your comments.

Quick feedback

Was this page helpful?
Yes: 28 votes (70%)
No: 12 votes (30%)
Total Votes: 40