Skip to main content

Authors / Researchers: Build your portfolio

Build your identity

Your publication portfolio identifies your work to the world. This page covers building your portfolio using Web of Science, ResearcherID, and EndNote online. The process involves searching the Web of Science for papers you've authored, claiming them to your ResearcherID profile, and managing your publications as needed using EndNote online.

It is recommended that you read the sections below in order.

1. Author identifiers in Web of Science

ResearcherID and ORCID are two author identifier solutions that help you build your publication portfolio. Both are supported in Web of Science.

If you're new to these author identifer solutions, watch this short video to learn more about these two supported systems in the Web of Science.

Key takeaways

  • Both ResearcherID and ORCID allow you to create lists of publications you've authored. Both support author name disambiguation via a unique identifier.
  • Both are supported in Web of Science: an author's publications in Web of Science can be found by searching for the author's ResearcherID or ORCID number.
  • You can link your ResearcherID and ORCID profiles and push your list of publications from one to the other.
  • Keep your publication list up to date! As you publish new papers, make sure to add them to your ResearcherID or ORCID profile.

ResearcherID or ORCID, which one?

Which should I use, ResearcherID or ORCID? Do I need both? I already have an ORCID account. Why should I set up a ResearcherID?

Having both is not necessary. Web of Science ingests an ORCID feed on a monthly basis, so if you have already added all your publications to your ORCID profile, then any papers that can be found in the Web of Science will be automatically tagged with your ORCID unique identifier.

That said, setting up a ResearcherID account makes managing your publications in ORCID easier. For papers you've written that are not in Web of Science, you can add them easily to your ResearcherID account and then push those papers over to your ORCID account.

2. Set up your ResearcherID account

Steps

1. Go to http://researcherid.com

2. Click on Join Now It's Free. If you already have a sign-in for Web of Science or EndNote online, use the same email address when you register for your ResearcherID.

3. Complete your ResearcherID profile.

4. If you have an ORCID account and have built a list of your publications there, link your ORCID and ResearcherID accounts so that you can import your publications to ResearcherID (watch the video below for detailed steps).

Creating a ResearcherID

Watch the video on creating a ResearcherID.

3. Find your publications in Web of Science and claim them to your ResearcherID account

Once you've set up your ResearcherID account, you can search for your publications in Web of Science and claim them to your ResearcherID account.

You can search the Title field for each of your publications, or you can try searching by author name for all of your publications.

Watch this video for tips on author name searching.

Note: The Author Search feature shown in this video (starting at 2:46) is only available in the Web of Science Core Collection.

As you come across papers that you've authored, mark them and claim them to your ResearcherID account using the Save to ResearcherID - I wrote these option.

You can also add your papers to the Marked List and save them to ResearcherID from there.

When you are done, you can go back to your ResearcherID account (http://researcherid.com) and see your list of publications in your profile.


Using the Marked List

Watch this video for more on the Marked List.

4. Set up an EndNote online account

For publications you've authored that are not in Web of Science, you can add them to your ResearcherID profile using EndNote online.

EndNote online works with a lot of online databases like PubMed and Google Scholar, as well as database providers like Ovid, OCLC, Ebsco, etc. You can search these online resources for your publications, save them to EndNote online, and then add them to your publication list at ResearcherID.

Here are the steps for setting up an EndNote online account.

1. While onsite at your institution, go to http://my.endnote.com and choose the option to sign up for a new account.

2. Make sure to register with the same email address you used when setting up your ResearcherID account. This will link your EndNote online and ResearcherID accounts. You'll be able to manage your publications in ResearcherID while signed into EndNote online.

Once you have signed into EndNote online, you should see in the left sidebar your publication lists at ResearcherID. This confirms both products are linked.

4. Next, you will need to install two EndNote plug-ins.

  • The Cite While You Write plug-in will let you cite references from your EndNote library in Word documents.
  • The web browser plug-in will let you search online databases and save references to your EndNote library.

Note: While registering for an EndNote online account should be done onsite (and can usually be done at any computer), the two EndNote plug-ins should be installed on your computer. If your computer is offsite, you can sign in at http://my.endnote.com from your computer and install the plug-ins. You do not have to be onsite to install the plug-ins.

Watch this video on how to install the EndNote plug-ins.

5. Add your publications to ResearcherID using EndNote online

A lot of online databases allow you to export to EndNote. You can search these online resources for your publications, export them to your EndNote online library, and then from EndNote add your papers to ResearcherID.

The option to export to EndNote will look different from one database to another. Here are some examples.

PubMed

Google Scholar

Be sure to go into the Settings for Google Scholar first and set the Bibliography manager setting to EndNote.

Ovid

Add your publications manually

If you need to manually add your publications, this can be done using EndNote online. Go to Collect > New Reference.


Once your publications have been added to your EndNote online library, the final step is to mark them in your library and add them to My Publications at ResearcherID.

When you go to ResearcherID (http://researcherid.com) you will see these publications in your profile on your My Publications list.

Transfer publications between ResearcherID and ORCID

As you publish new papers, remember to update your profile at either ResearcherID or ORCID. If you have both, remember you can push your list of publications from one to the other by signing into ResearcherID and using the Exchange Data with ORCID button.

Search WoS by ResearcherID or ORCID

The papers in Web of Science that you claim to your ResearcherID account will be tagged with your ResearcherID unique identifier (it takes about two weeks). Papers in your ORCID account that can be found in the Web of Science will also be tagged with your ORCID unique identifier.

You can search the Author Identifier field in Web of Science by either your ResearcherID or ORCID identifier to find your papers.

ResearcherID and ORCID Integration

We'd love to hear from you

Please share your feedback and help us improve this page. Make sure to include the URL of this page in your comments.

Quick feedback

Was this page helpful?
Yes: 28 votes (70%)
No: 12 votes (30%)
Total Votes: 40